Home of Your Own Program

CHFA can help borrowers with disabilities purchase their first home. If you, or a family member who will be living in your home, have a documented disability, you may be eligible for a low-interest rate loan through the Home of Your Own Program.


  • Low interest rate
  • Down payment assistance available

Eligible Properties

  • Existing – Single Family
  • New Construction (Statewide Single Family / 2 unit eligible in Targeted Areas only)
  • 2 – 4 units (existing & occupied as residential for the past 5 years)
  • Condominiums (FNMA & FHA approved – Includes 2-4 unit projects)
  • Townhomes
  • PUD’s (FNMA & FHA approved)

Eligibility Requirements

  • You must provide proof of your disability or the disability of a family member who will be occupying the home with you, such as evidence of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and/or documentation from the State Department of Social Services (DSS) or Department of Developmental Services (DDS).
  • You must be a first-time homebuyer or have not owned a home in the past three years.
  • The home must be your primary residence.  Investment or vacation properties are not allowed.
  • The sales price of the home must be within the CHFA Sales Price Limits, and your gross income must be within the CHFA Statewide Income Limits.

Targeted Area Exception

If you have owned a home in the past three years, you may still be eligible if you plan to purchase in a targeted area, which is a community targeted by the federal government for revitalization. CHFA will waive the income limit for eligible applicants purchasing in Targeted Areas who are not applying for a Downpayment Assistance Program loan.

Additional Considerations

  • You will be required to attend a free Homebuyer Education course prior to closing. The course will help you understand the home-buying process and offer tips for maintaining a home. Classes are held online and at locations across Connecticut.
  • Federal mortgage insurance through the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), the Veterans Administration, USDA Rural Development, or Private Mortgage Insurance may be required. Insurance may not be required for borrowers with a down payment of 20% or more.
  • In rare cases, you could be required to pay a Federal Recapture Tax if you sell  your home within the first nine years, AND earn a profit, AND your income exceeds the designated Federal Recapture Tax Income at the time of sale. Should you fall into this category, you may be reimbursed by CHFA for the taxes paid if you complete and file the required forms. Consult a tax professional if you have questions on the Recapture Tax.




DISCLAIMER: This is not an offer to make a loan or to make a loan on any particular terms. All loan applicants must qualify under underwriting requirements and satisfy all contingencies of loan approval. Rates and terms subject to change without notice. Norcom Mortgage NMLS ID # 71655 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org)